Steering Committee

Our organization is led by a Steering Committee comprised of a group of academic professors with expertise in clinical and lab research, statistical analysis, research funding, product and technical development, and entrepreneurship. Our committee has sought to provide its clinical and research faculty along with trainees a seamless step-by-step process to initiate and execute both research and innovation, coordinating expert mentors and faculty and resources in order to optimize the process of pairing resources for collaboration.

With representation from each subspecialty, we achieve a significant level of transparency with the active research and innovation projects within each subspecialty, promptly coordinate resources where necessary, disseminate new research and innovation ideas and maintain accountability and real time support with the aim to create a constant forward moving progression that propels the efforts of each contributing individual within the Department.

Steering Committee

Hemal Patel, PhD, Chair

Daniel Lee, M.D., PhD (Director, Residency Program)

Sidney Merritt, M.D. (Pediatrics)

Ruth Waterman, M.D., MS Biology (General, Research)

Carter Jones, M.D., PhD (Pain)

Matt Pearn, M.D. (Neurology)

Angela Meier, M.D. (Critical Care)

Byron Fergerson, M.D. (Cardiac)