UC San Diego internal medicine residents at American Thoracic Society Annual Meeting in 2016.Residents Tricia Sharma and Michele Pham at ACP 2015 Poster Competition.Rising R2s in June 2015 before the beginning of their R3 year.Residents Stephanie Guerreri and Aaron Kofman at ACP Poster competition 2015.Rising R2s at their year-end celebration in June 2015. Residents in joint injection session of Friday School.Residents in Friday School, where the topic was joint injection.

Welcome to the Internal Medicine Residency Program

The mission of the UC San Diego Internal Medicine Residency Program is to provide a superior academic environment with diverse clinical and research opportunities so that each resident receives the training necessary to achieve his or her career aspirations. 

Learn More


This Year's Fellowship Program Match Results Are In

Our residency program graduates have matched to major fellowship programs across the United States as well as here in San Diego. The December 2016 results:


  • Meghan Garcia - National Jewish, Denver
  • Christine Rukasin - Vanderbilt
  • Trisha Sharma - UC Irvine


  • Neil Beri - UC Davis
  • Roxana Ghashghaei - UC Irvine
  • Calvin Hang - UCSD
  • Misha Narezkin - Houston Methodist
  • Thomas Prohaska - UCSD
  • Darrin Wong - UCSD


  • Ali Akram - UCSD


  • Josh Bollan - UCSD


  • Miriam Jacobs - Washington University

Infectious Diseases

  • Ahnika Kline - National Institutes of Health
  • Thomas Martin - UCSD
  • Katya Prakash - UCSD
  • Stephen Rawlings - UCSD

CDC-Epidemic Intelligence Service

  • Aaron Kofman - CDC

Palliative Care

  • Vishar Amin - UT Southwestern
  • Caitlin Dockweiler - UCSD
  • Emily Martin - UCSD
  • Tammy Rubenzik - UCSD

Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine

  • Ryan Anderson - Stanford
  • Bita Ghafouri - Stanford
  • Jisha Joshua - UCSD
  • Alex Kassar - Cedars Sinai
  • Mazen Odish - UCSD
  • Annie Oh - UCSF


  • Christine Anastasiou - UCSF

Sports Medicine

  • Paul Meirick - Vanderbilt

Tricia Santos Cavaiola Wins Whitehill Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Tricia Santos Cavaiola, MD, the latest addition to the Internal Medicine Residency Program core faculty, is the Department of Medicine’s recipient of the Whitehill Prize for 2016. The Academy of Clinician Scholars awards the prize to one junior faculty member in the Department of Medicine by vote of the chief medical residents.

Dr. Santos, a Chief Medical Resident at UC San Diego in 2010-2011, is Assistant Clinical Professor in the Division of Endocrinology. She co-directs the Endocrine, Reproduction and Metabolism I and II courses at the School of Medicine.

The Whitehill Charitable Trust, established in 1995 by Jules Leonard Whitehill, generated the Whitehill Prize for excellence in the teaching of clinical medicine or surgery.

More Program News

About Us

Quick Links


Resident Spotlight

Dr. Meera Subash
Class of 2017

Hometown: Plano, Texas
MD: Texas Tech

About Me: I'm a Texan originally but made it out for a new adventure to the West Coast. I decided to pursue internal medicine because of its challenging and exciting nature. I love that I've been able to care for some of my patients for almost three years now!

Why I Chose UC San Diego: UC San Diego has afforded me the opportunities of a top-notch training program with meaningful mentorship and camaraderie. The combination of the people you train alongside with, the places you get to practice at, and the patients you serve is tough to beat!

Favorite Place in San Diego: Torrey Pines State Beach has quickly become one of my favorite places. Even on a day off or before a long shift, it's nice to catch the ocean view, walk along the beach, and grab a taco.

Best Part of Living in San Diego: The weather and accessibility hands-down. I can easily get to where I need to be for training and still enjoy a temperate climate all year round. San Diego has the assets of a large city but still is very manageable.

Career Plans: Rheumatology, Quality Improvement/Patient Safety.

We Couldn’t Be More Proud!

Over 20 of our residents and interns presented either a clinical vignette or a research poster at the American College of Physicians Southern California Regional Scientific Meeting in October.

Special congratulations to our residents Will Stendardi, MD (PGY-1), and Trisha Sharma, MD (PGY-3), who won second and third place in the competition.

Details and Photos

Dr. Ali Farkhondehpour Receives Lee Rickman Humanism Award

This year's recipient of the Lee Rickman Humanism in Medicine Award is Dr. Ali Farkhondehpour, now one of our chief medical residents in 2016-2017.

The award is given each year to the resident who most embodies the energy and devotion of Lee Rickman, MD, a UC San Diego residency program graduate and Department of Medicine faculty member who practiced infectious disease medicine with singular passion until his death in 2003.

Program Director's Message

Simerjot K. Jassal, MD

Dr. Simerjot Jassal Welcome! We are so excited that you are considering joining our UC San Diego Internal Medicine Residency Program family.

Our program offers broad-based training in general internal medicine and all its specialties, with the opportunity to care for diverse racial and ethnic populations at three world-class teaching hospitals and a myriad of outpatient clinics.  |  More from Dr. Jassal

What's Happening Now in Our Program

To learn more about what is happening in our program, please visit our residents' website.

Support Our Program

The Internal Medicine Residency Program trains world-class physicians who excel in patient care, research and service. Your donation to support the program will be used for educational tools, conference fees, food and other morale-boosting items.

We appreciate your support!

Give Now

Recent resident wellness events include cooking and paint throwing.

Recent resident wellness events include paint throwing.

Another resident wellness event: cooking.

Another resident wellness event: cooking.