The Department of Pharmacology is a leading center for research and training in the discipline of pharmacology, and is renowned for its strength in defining basic cellular and molecular mechanisms of signal transduction, elucidating molecular structure and function, and using computational science to translate basic knowledge into drug discovery relevant to treatment of cancer, cardiovascular and neurological diseases.


Job Opening
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Los Angeles, CA
Tenure-Track Faculty Position in the Department of Anesthesiology and Cardiovascular Research Theme

Applications will be accepted until December 23, 2016. 

Job Opening
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC

Two Tenure- or Research- Track Faculty Positions in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Job Opening
LSU Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, LA

Assistant/Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
Pharmacology Faculty Search.pdf

Funding Opportunities Available

The PhRMA Foundation is pleased to present the following funding opportunities:

Clinical Pharmacology
Due by February 1, 2017

Health Outcomes
Due by February 1, 2017

Translational Medicine & Therapeutics
Due by February 1, 2017

Visit the PhRMA website for more detailed information or email:


Cutting-edge seminars are hosted almost every Tuesday in the UC San Diego Department of Pharmacology.  

Upcoming Seminars:

Tuesday, December 6, 2016
John Tesmer, Ph.D.
University of Michigan
"Mollecular Mechanisms of Effector Regulation by Heterotrimeric G Proteins and Lipids"
12:00pm, Leichtag Building Rm.107

Tuesday, December 13, 2016
Tony Hunter, Ph.D.
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
"Post-Translational Modifications of Proteins in Cell Signaling and Disease"
12:00pm, Leichtag Building Rm.107

Please click on the link to access the full seminar schedule and to check out recent event updates.

View the full Seminar Schedule

In the News

November 2016

Tannishtha Reya, PhD was featured in "Antibody Breaks Leukemia's Hold, Providing New Therpeutic Approach" and Cancer Cell.

October 2016

Palmer Taylor, PhD will be honored as a Revelle Medal recipient at the UC San Diego Founders Celebration. The Revelle Medal is the highest honor given by the Chancellor to a current or former faculty member for sustained, distinguished, and extraordinary service to UC San Diego.  

August 2016

Andy McCammon, PhD was awarded the Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry.  This prize, from the University of Wisconsin, is the highest university-based award in theoretical chemistry; four previous winners have won the Nobel Prize. 

May 10, 2016

"Genetic Variations that Boost PKC Enzyme Contribute to Alzheimer's Disease" features Alexandra Newton, PhD. and published in Science Signaling.

Feb 25, 2016

"Molecular "Brake" Prevents Excessive Inflammation: Protein p62 keeps macrophages in check"
features Michael Karin, PhD. and published in Cell

Feb 1, 2016

UC San Diego Researchers Cited Among "World's Most Influential Scientific Minds"
features Kun-Liang Guan, PhD, Michael Karin, PhD and Roger Tsien, PhD.

All News


November 2016
Department of Pharmacology Faculty Participate in the "Padres Pedal the Cause: A World Without Cancer" Fundraiser

This event is an annual cycling fundraiser that donates 100% of the net proceeds to benefit cancer research.  The three San Diego based National Cancer Institute-designated cancer centers, UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center, Sanford Burnham Presbys Medical Research Institute and the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, as well as Rady Children's hospital are beneficiaries.  The goal is to fund research that may lead to a cure for cancer. 
BikeTeam16.JPGTeam Members - From Left to Right: Jin Zhang, Silvio Gutkind, and Maya Kunkel